2022 Juneteenth Special - CMAC.jpg
2022 Juneteenth Special-North Bay Area.jpg

Californians can claim COVID-related sick leave for four more months

By Quinci LeGardye | California Black Media

More Californians now qualify for COVID-related paid sick leave.

Thanks to the state’s 2021 COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave law, SB 95, which went into effect in March and was introduced by Sen. Nancy Skinner (D-Berkeley) in December last year. But eligibility for that compensation will continue for only four more months.

Qualifying employees now have access to up to 80 hours of paid time off for reasons related to COVID-19.

The maximum amount of 2021 COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave an employee can receive is $511 per day, or $5,110 in total. This is separate from any paid sick leave taken in 2020. The law is retroactive, extending eligibility back to Jan. 1, 2021, through Sept. 30. Before the 2021 law passed, Californians were only eligible for three days of paid sick leave based on provisions in the previous 2020 expanded paid sick leave legislation. That law expired Jan. 1.